Leadership South Dakota Announces 11th Class

Leadership South Dakota Announces 11th Class

Leadership South Dakota Announces 11th Class

Posted by on May 23, 2024 in

Leadership South Dakota is excited to announce the 40 individuals participating in this year’s program. This group of South Dakotans will kick off the organization’s 11th Class when they meet in Pierre this September. The comprehensive, statewide program engages citizens from across the state and provides participants with the background, unique experiences, and insights necessary to be successful in leadership positions. 

“This year’s class is full of incredible leaders. Our selection committee had to choose from an impressive list of nearly 80 folks from across South Dakota and they did a great job,” said Leadership South Dakota Executive Director John Meyer. “The team and I are anxious to get started with this class in September, and I personally am excited for Year Two at the helm of this important organization,” added Meyer.

Leadership South Dakota helps homegrown leaders expand their knowledge of the state. From Brookings to Rapid City and many unique places in between, participants learn from extraordinary people who have contributed to the fabric of South Dakota. In the program, the 2025 class members listed below will gain leadership skills, helping them shape the future of the state.

The organization’s values of Discover, Connect, and Do reflect the goals of each program participant discovering something new about themselves and their state, connecting with their classmates and fellow South Dakota leaders they hear from, and committing to action at the end of the program as a result of what they saw and learned in their Leadership South Dakota experience.

Class of 2025

  • Aaron Riswold – Dell Rapids
  • Adam Walsh – Harrisburg
  • Alana Snyder – Sioux Falls
  • Angela Rans – Huron
  • April Meyerink – Sioux Falls
  • Ashley Hobbs – Mitchell
  • Bryce Pattison – Sioux Falls
  • Dave Van Nieuwenhuyzen – Sioux Falls
  • David Andrew Rogers – Sioux Falls
  • Dory Hanson – Lead
  • Dustin Morrison – Rapid City
  • Eric Nelson – Rapid City
  • Floyd Rummel – Madison
  • Heather Zinter – Milbank
  • Jamie Boettcher – Spearfish
  • Jamie Ward – Sioux Falls
  • Jason Kann – Brandon
  • Jessica Larson – Mission
  • Jimmy Seward – Sturgis
  • Jody Shaw Hernandez – Brookings
  • Kari Hybertson – Sioux Falls
  • Katey Ulrich – Vermillion
  • Katie Bartling – Sioux Falls
  • Kelly Nelson – Pierre
  • Kimberly Lofgren – Mitchell
  • Liz Schiefen – Mitchell
  • Matthew Knippling – Flandreau
  • Megan Kjose – Sioux Falls
  • Melissa Dellman – Chester
  • Dr. Melissa Dittberner – Volin
  • Michelle Socia – Watertown
  • Ryan Schmidtman – Sioux Falls
  • Sara Lum – Sioux Falls
  • Sara Vande Kamp – Sioux Falls
  • Sara Waldner – Sioux Falls
  • Tara Yost – Miller
  • Terry Liggins – Sioux Falls
  • Thad Titze – Sioux Falls
  • Timothy Doyle – Rapid City
  • Traci Nord – Sioux Falls

Participants were selected from diverse occupations and locations throughout the state by a selection committee. During the program, the Class of 2025 will travel to a new area of the state each session and gain valuable insight on topics specific to that region while hearing from leaders about the challenges, opportunities, and successes they have encountered on their journeys.

Session Locations

  • Pierre area: September 2024
  • Brookings area: October 2024
  • Rapid City/Ellsworth area: November 2024
  • Yankton/Vermillion area: January 2025
  • Mission area: February 2025
  • Sioux Falls area: March 2025
  • Chamberlain: March 2025

The class member list, along with the program dates and locations can be viewed at LeadershipSouthDakota.com

Program Testimonials

With almost 500 Leadership South Dakota graduates in the Leadership alumni network, the consistent positive feedback from those participating reflects this premier leadership program’s true impact on the state.

“I have taken part in numerous leadership programs, and none of them compare to the leadership journey I have been on through this program. I truly believe I am a better person in all areas of life because of this program and highly recommend it to anyone interested in true personal and professional growth.” Cortney Ficken, Class of 2024

“As a life-long South Dakotan, Leadership South Dakota opened my eyes to so many wonderful people and places across the state. The program encouraged me to take professional and personal risks, run for public office, and broaden my network with other people who care about the future of SD and its history.” Nick Wendell, Class of 2015

“Leadership South Dakota offers an unparalleled opportunity to deepen understanding, debunk misconceptions, break open new interests, and develop extraordinary relationships.” Jennifer Weiss, Class of 2019

“Leadership South Dakota was one of the most pivotal personal and professional experiences of my life. I’m honored to be an alum and do my part to better our state and community.” Vince Danh, Class of 2024 

About Leadership South Dakota

Leadership South Dakota is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization established in 2014. Through generous grants from the South Dakota Community Foundation and the Bush Foundation, Leadership South Dakota became a reality. 

Leadership South Dakota is supported by First PREMIER Bank and Sanford Health (gold sponsors); POET, Daktronics, First Interstate Bank, Black Hills Energy, Sammons Financial Group, SDN Communications, NorthWestern Energy, South Dakota Trust Company, Valley Queen Cheese, Avera, Marsh McLennan Agency, Marketbeat, and Monument Health (silver sponsors); Midco, Viaflex, and Marco (bronze sponsors); and Boyce Law Firm, Dakota Resources, South Dakota Community Foundation, Pinnacle Productions, and Lawrence & Schiller (in-kind sponsors).

For more information

John Meyer

Executive Director

PO Box 91533

Sioux Falls, SD 57109