Leadership South Dakota selects sixth class

Leadership South Dakota selects sixth class

Leadership South Dakota selects sixth class

Posted by on May 31, 2019 in


Leadership South Dakota selects sixth class

Leadership South Dakota has selected 43 class members to participate in the 8-month leadership program, which will begin in September. Leadership South Dakota is a statewide program with a mission to attract engaged citizens from across the state, then provide them with the background, unique experiences and insights necessary to assume leadership positions at the community, state and national levels.

The purpose of Leadership South Dakota is to develop leaders of by providing them with experiences that will expand their knowledge of the state, access to extraordinary people who have contributed to the fabric of our state and skills in the areas of leadership and organizational management that will contribute to future success of South Dakota.

Currently, there are 205 alumni of Leadership South Dakota and many of them share high praise for their experiences in the program.  Here are a few comments from previous class members.

Leadership South Dakota provided me a once in a lifetime opportunity to connect with leaders from all over the state and a deeper knowledge of our State’s history, communities, cultures and local economies.  Michael Kaiser, First Premier Bank (Class 2019)

My Leadership South Dakota experience was hands-down the best development opportunity I have ever experienced. Leadership SD’s multi-faceted approach gave us access to high powered individuals, the opportunity to openly discuss South Dakota challenges and network with talented classmates. Mike Zacher, Raven Aerostar (Class 2019)

Leadership South Dakota offers an unparalleled opportunity to deepen understanding, debunk misconceptions, break open new interests and develop extraordinary relationships.  Jennifer Weiss, Sanford Health (Class 2019)

A full list of class members is provided below and can also be viewed at LeadershipSouthDakota.com. Participants were selected from a diverse background of occupations and locations throughout the state. During their time in the program, the 2020 class will meet in cities throughout South Dakota while focusing on a variety of relevant and important topics.

September 18-20, 2019 – Pierre: Orientation and State Government
October 16-18, 2019 – Brookings: Agriculture, Research and Manufacturing
November 13-15, 2019 – Rapid City: Tourism, Military and Natural Resources
January 8-10, 2020 – Aberdeen: Education and Rural Initiatives
February 19-20, 2020 – Kyle: Native American History and Culture
March 18-20, 2020 – Sioux Falls: Health Care and Financial Services
March 27, 2020 – Chamberlain: Graduation

Class of 2020
Will Areklett – Valley Queen Cheese
Seth Artz – POET
Breanna Beebe – First PREMIER Bank
Angela Beilke – First PREMIER Bank
Jeremy Bill – Sammons Financial Group
Lora Black – Sanford Health
Michael Bockorny – Aberdeen Development Corporation
Lee Bollock – Avera
Paul Briseno – Brookings City Manager
Jessica Castleberry – Little Nest Preschools LLC
Catherine Chicoine – South Dakota Trust Company
Marc Eyre – Black HiIls Energy
Blake Gunderson – The First National Bank in Sioux Falls
Alex Halbach – Cutler Law Firm, LLP
Tim Jensen – TSP, Inc.
Amanda Johnson – First Interstate Bank
Lynn Kendall – Rapid City Chamber of Commerce
Lindsey Kimber – Glacial Lakes Area Development
Jenessa Kniffen -South Dakota Magazine
Heath Kooiman – Woltman Group PC
Heather Krause – Sanford Health
Matt Kull – NACA Inspired Schools Network
Kasey Maher – Grounded Coffee & Gifts
Brienne Maner – Zeal Center for Entrepreneurship
Paul Mantz -NorthWestern Energy
Molly McIntosh – Peace of Mind Counseling
Jay Mitchell – Great Western Bank
Brian Mueller – Pennington County Sheriff’s Office
Brodie Mueller – Dakota Territory Brewing Co.
Rachelle Norberg – Gunvordahl, Gunvordahl & Norberg Prof. L.L.C.
Steve Payne – Avera eCARE
John Pohlman – Lawrence & Schiller
Jeff Poppen – Sanford Health
Pooja Pullman – Raven Industries
Greg Robinson – SDN Communications
Kelsey Sakos – Mayor’s Office, City of Rapid City
Karla Santi -Blend Interactive
Leah Sideras – MetaBank
Justin Smorawske – Epicosity
Michelle Stephens – Regional Health
Cecily Tucker – First PREMIER Bankcard
Kristi Wagner – Dakota Resources
Jenny Wolff – Marsh & McLennan Agency

About Leadership South Dakota:

Leadership South Dakota is a non-profit (501c3) organization established in 2014 as a partnership between the South Dakota Community Foundation and Dakota Education Consulting. Through a generous grant from the Bush Foundation, Leadership South Dakota became a reality. Leadership South Dakota is supported by First PREMIER Bank and Sanford Health (gold sponsors); Daktronics, Great Western Bank, First Interstate BancSystem Foundation, Black Hills Energy, Raven Industries, POET, Sammons Financial Group, SDN Communications, NorthWestern Energy, South Dakota Trust Company, TSP, Inc., Valley Queen Cheese Inc. and Regional Health  (silver sponsors); and Boyce Law Firm, Dakota Resources, South Dakota Magazine and Lawrence & Schiller (in-kind sponsors).

For More information:

Rick Melmer
Executive Director
PO Box 91533
Sioux Falls, SD  57109

If you would rather not receive future communications from Leadership South Dakota, let us know by clicking here.

Leadership South Dakota, PO Box 91533, Sioux Falls, SD 57109 United States