Leadership South Dakota Welcomes 10th Class

Leadership South Dakota Welcomes 10th Class

Leadership South Dakota Welcomes 10th Class

Posted by on May 23, 2023 in

With a new director at the helm, Leadership South Dakota is excited to announce the students selected to take part in this year’s program. With a record number of applications, this group of South Dakotans will kick off the 10th class when they meet in Pierre this fall. The comprehensive, statewide program has a mission to engage citizens from across the state and provides participants with the background, unique experiences, and insights necessary to be successful in leadership positions.

“We’re so excited to announce the 10th class of Leadership SD. We had a record-breaking number of applications and I’m honored to lead what will be my first flagship class of Leadership SD,” said new Leadership South Dakota Executive Director John Meyer. “Leadership SD has a strong history, and a very bright future as we enter our second decade,” added Meyer.

Leadership South Dakota helps homegrown leaders expand their knowledge of the state. From Brookings to Rapid City and many unique places in between, participants learn from extraordinary people who have contributed to the fabric of our state. In the program, the 2024 class members listed below will gain leadership and organizational management skills, helping them shape the future of our state.

With more than 400 Leadership South Dakota graduates, the consistent positive feedback from those participating has been quite encouraging for this exclusive leadership program.

Leadership South Dakota provided me a once in a lifetime opportunity to connect with leaders from all over the state and a deeper knowledge of our state’s history, communities, cultures and local economies. Michael Kaiser, First Premier Bank (Class of 2019)

Leadership South Dakota is a dynamic organization with multiple layers of opportunity for professional development and personal growth. The connections made with leaders and the privilege to learn about our state provides a foundation to build upon after the class ends. It was a privilege to be part of Leadership South Dakota. It is an outstanding program that challenges and celebrates what it means to be a leader. Michele Loobey-Gertsch, Black Hills Works Foundation (Class of 2022)

Leadership South Dakota offers an unparalleled opportunity to deepen understanding, debunk misconceptions, break open new interests and develop extraordinary relationships. Jennifer Weiss, Sanford Health (Class of 2019)

The class member list, along with the program dates and locations can be viewed at LeadershipSouthDakota.com. Participants were selected from a diverse background of occupations and locations throughout the state.

Class of 2024

Sandra Wallace – Sioux Falls
Melissa Carlson – Dell Rapids
Tarah Heupel – Aberdeen
Stacy Hackett – Sioux Falls
Macy Kaiser – Sioux Falls
Jake Meshke – Brookings
Sandra Floyd – Mitchell
Dan Bjerknes – Aberdeen
Eric Nelson – Rapid City
Morgan Newman – Sturgis
Brice Christensen – Sioux Falls
Brian Kemnitz – Huron
Cortney Ficken – Rapid City
Amber Hopper – Elk Point
Logan Veurink – Sioux Falls
Austin Asche – Milbank
Zac Barnhardt – Sioux Falls
Kristy Laue – Sioux Falls
Jamie Farmen – Pierre
Tracey Quint – Sioux Falls
Krista Tschetter – Sioux Falls
Terri LaBrie – Sturgis
Maggie Fitzgibbons – Sioux Falls
Wendy Mamer – Sioux Falls
Dawn Marie Johnson – Sioux Falls
Megan DeBoer – Sioux Falls
Erika Tordsen – Sioux Falls
Winona Starrlight Burley – Sisseton
Michelle Cwach – Vermillion
Jessica Meyers – Sioux Falls
Danyell Skillman – Sioux Falls
Vinson Danh – Sioux Falls
Ashley Geigle – Murdo
Scott Sitts – Rapid City
Joseph Rotert – Garretson
Fenecia Homan – Hartford
Ben Beitelspacher – Sioux Falls
Jacob Davis – Belle Fourche
Kelly Dybdahl – Madison

During their time in the program, the 2024 class will travel to a new area of the state each session and gain valuable insight on topics specific to that region, while hearing from leaders about the challenges, opportunities and successes they have encountered on their journeys.

2024 Session Dates

  • Pierre: September 13 – 15, 2023
  • Brookings: October 18 – 20, 2023
  • Rapid City: November 15 – 17, 2023
  • Madison: January 10 – 12, 2024
  • Mission: February 7 – 9, 2024
  • Sioux Falls: March 6 – 8, 2024
  • Chamberlain: March 22, 2024

About Leadership South Dakota:

Leadership South Dakota is a non-profit (501c3) organization established in 2014. Through generous grants from the South Dakota Community Foundation and the Bush Foundation, Leadership South Dakota became a reality. Leadership South Dakota is supported by First PREMIER Bank, Sanford Health and POET (gold sponsors); Daktronics, First Interstate Bank, Black Hills Energy, Sammons Financial Group, SDN Communications, NorthWestern Energy, South Dakota Trust Company, Valley Queen, Avera, Marsh & McLennan Agency, Marco and Monument Health (silver sponsors); Marketbeat, Midco and Independent Health Solutions (bronze sponsors); and Boyce Law Firm, Dakota Resources, South Dakota Community Foundation, Pinnacle Productions and Lawrence & Schiller (in-kind sponsors).

For More information:

John Meyer
Executive Director
PO Box 91533
Sioux Falls, SD 57109